WAHPC’s Board of Directors

Mary Emery is the president and co-founder of the Waukesha Preservation Alliance. She has more than 25 years of experience in preservation advocacy. A few of the projects she spearheaded were the expansion of the McCall Street Historic District, getting historic district overlay zoning on the books and implemented in the McCall Street Historic District, and saving a block of houses on Wright Street from demolition. She is currently leading the efforts to save the Moor Mud Baths from demolition. She has received the John Schoenknecht Spirit of Preservation Award from the City of Waukesha three times for her preservation efforts. She does consulting on historic preservation tax credit projects and historic preservation and restoration projects.  Term expires in 2020.


Wm. Jason Flatt, P.E., is a licensed professional engineer, educator, and a historic preservation generalist whose credentials meet the Secretary of the Interior’s Professional Qualification Standards for Architectural History. He holds a B.S. in naval architecture & marine engineering and an M.S. in ocean technology from The Webb Institute of Naval Architecture and an M.A. in historic preservation from Goucher College. He served for more that twelve years in various positions at Marinette Marine Corp., culminating as chief naval architect. Jason has been a member of the City of Marinette Historic Preservation Commission since 2003, and is a consultant to the City of Green Bay Historic Preservation Commission, serving as Green Bay’s Historic Preservation Specialist. He is a founding member of Fairchild & Flatt, an engineering and historic preservation consulting firm in Marinette, Wisconsin.  Term expires in 2020.


Gene Hackbarth, retired, is the current president of WAHPC. He serves on the WAHPC board, on the board of the Wisconsin Trust for Historic Preservation, and on the board of the Brown County Trust for Historic Preservation. He is a member of the De Pere Historic Preservation Commission, the De Pere Main Street Program’s Design Committee, and is a past president of the Heritage Hill State Historical Park corporate board. After nine years as a retail business owner/manager, Gene served as executive director of economic development for the City of Whitewater and executive director of De Pere’s Main Street Program.  Term expires in 2018.


Katie Kaliszewski received her Master of Arts in Historic Preservation from Cornell University in 2013. For the last five years she has worked as a Cultural Resource Specialist with the firm Mead & Hunt, based out of Middleton, WI. She has served on the Madison Landmarks Commission for approximately 1 year. Katie was elected to her first three-year term in 2018.


Arlan Kay, architect, is a current member of the WAHPC board of directors. He also chairs the Village of Oregon Historic Preservation Commission, and has been a member of that commission since it was established. Major projects of the Oregon commission have included creation of two historic districts and obtaining funding for the rehabilitation of the downtown streetscape through the Certified Local Government process. He is a member of the State Capitol and Executive Residence Board (SCERB) which oversees maintenance and modifications to these vital State buildings, where he has served for the past eleven years, currently as vice-chair. Arlan has been the principal of his own firm for over forty years, with a practice that emphasizes existing and historic buildings.  Term expires in 2020.


Lisa Pauly Lefeber serves as Director of Operations at the Fond du Lac Area Convention and Visitors Bureau. With nearly thirty years of service Lisa makes sure the team has all the tools they need to serve customers better. A lifelong resident of Fond du Lac and history buff, Lisa is was elected to her first three-year term on the WAHPC Board in 2018. She was also elected Secretary-Treasurer by the WAHPC Board.


Jennifer L. Lehrke is a principal architect and historic preservation consultant and founded Legacy Architecture, Inc. in 2011. Legacy Architecture, Inc. is an architectural design and historic preservation consulting firm based in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, offering professional services to building owners, homeowners, civic groups, and municipalities who are drawn to the firm for its expertise in historic preservation, community & recreational, residential, and commercial projects. The firm is located in the historic Eliza Prange House, which was constructed in 1923 for one of the founders of Sheboygan’s famed H.C. Prange Company. Jennifer purchased the building in the fall of 2014, undertook an extensive restoration project utilizing historic tax credits to convert the building into four professional office suites, and listed it in the State and National Registers of Historic Places. She has a master’s degree in architecture with Preservation Studies Certificate from UW- Milwaukee and currently serves as the Wisconsin director at large for the American Institute of Architects. Jennifer lives in Glenbeulah with her husband, Mark, and two daughters.  Term expires in 2019.


Shirley Brabender Mattox has been a member of the Oshkosh Landmarks Commission for fifteen years and currently serves as chair. She previously served on the WAHPC Board until 2012. In 1998 she became a member of the Monumental Brass Society and serves as the American treasurer. Shirley served on the Grand Opera House Advisory Board and the Foundation, having worked on the referendum and utilization committee to restore the building. She is also a member of the Winnebago County Historical and Archeological Society and the Oshkosh Public Museum. After she retired from teaching, she served three terms on the Oshkosh City Council. Shirley was elected to a three-year term in 2018.


Garry Prohaska resides in Platteville, Wisconsin, and is the owner of Landmark Restoration LLC., a licensed contractor in the State of Wisconsin, specializing in historic preservation, restoration and consulting services for both residential and commercial applications. He volunteered for a newly formed Platteville Historic Preservation Commission, upon its inception in 1997, where he served for 16 years. His formal education was at the UW- Platteville with a Degree in Construction Management and Design and a minor in Art and History. He also attended UW-Milwaukee School of Architecture, City and Urban Planning.

After his formal education, he was employed as a Construction Inspector and Housing Specialist, East Central Intergovernmental Association, overseeing five counties in Iowa for inspection and rehabilitation. Garry was elected to the WAHPC Board for his first three-year term in 2018.